Gabrielle Union’s We’re Going To Need More Wine is a book that will stay with me for a very long time. Not just because I love the author (because, to be honest, I do), but because of the content it carries and the stories it has that are told from the heart.

If you haven’t read We’re Going to Need More Wine, get a bottle of wine and read my thoughts here then make your decision.

This year, I have been very intentional in getting hard copy books as opposed to reading all my books in soft copy. I have even made a list of books I want to buy.

After reading Gabrielle Union’s bookI started looking for books that are similar to that.

If you loved We’re Going To Need More Wine, here are some other books you should read:

Around the way girl – Taraji P Henson

Taraji is the “GOAT” when it comes to acting. I know I say that about a lot of the actresses who I love, but trust me here.

In Around The Way Girl, she speaks about her parents, life as a single mother (something she saw as a gift when many thought it was a burden), and how she made it to Hollywood among other things I’ve left out. It’s the authenticity that does it for me in this book.

The Mother Of Black Hollywood: A Memoir – Jenifer Lewis

You may know the author from Black-ish. Although I haven’t read this book, it has been recommended to me and as a good friend, I am recommending it to you too.

Jenifer bares her soul in this memoir of a Midwestern girl with a dream, whose journey took her from poverty to the big screen, and along the way earned her many accolades. The main message in the book is “Love yourself so that love will not be a stranger when it comes.”

This should get you to read the book. Also, if you love photos in a memoir, you’ll definitely love this book.

The Misadventures Of Awkward Black Girl – Issa Rae

I added this book to my reading list in 2019 and I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t read it to date 🙈.

Issa is an inspiration to many black women, I included. In the book, she shares everything from cyber sexing in the early days of the Internet to deflecting unsolicited comments on weight gain, from navigating the perils of eating out alone and public displays of affection to learning to accept yourself—natural hair and all.

Whether you’re black, brown, or even white, this is a book you do not want to miss.

The Last Black Unicorn – Tiffany Haddish

I watched the movie Girls Trip and instantly fell in love with Tiffany. A few years later when I got to see her book, I instantly knew that I wanted to read it. Let me just say, what you see on your screen is not even a quarter the woman Tiffany is.

In the book, she speaks about her struggles, joys, and triumphs and as you turn the pages, you are left (rather I was) connecting the dots between the person I knew in movies, the comedian, and now her, in the book.

I wrote The Last Black Unicorn book review a while back that you can check out!

More Than Enough: Claiming Space For Who You Are (No Matter What They Say) – Elaine Welteroth

As women, many times we are made to feel like we are not enough. Like we don’t matter. And in the process, you may lose yourself.

This book will take you on a journey through the author’s joys, pitfalls, self-doubt, and successes as she reminds you that you are enough.

Just uncover and discover what is within you.

Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes To Those Who Create It – Charlamagne Tha God

In the book, Charlamagne Tha God presents his comic, often controversial, and always brutally honest insights on how living an authentic life is the quickest path to success. Beginning with his journey from the small town in South Carolina to his headline-grabbing interviews with celebrities you definitely know, he shares how he turned his troubled early life around by owning his mistakes and refusing to give up on his dreams, even after his controversial opinions got him fired from several on-air jobs.

Combining his own story with bold advice and his signature commitment to honesty at all costs, the author hopes this book will give you the confidence to live your own truth.

Open Book – Jessica Simpson

Jessica Simpson invites you on a remarkable journey, examining a life that blessed her with the compassion to help others but also burdened her with an almost crippling need to please. This is her way of using her voice, heart, soul, and humor to share things she’s never shared before.

The book has been described as an opportunity to laugh and cry with a close friend, one that will inspire you to live your best, most authentic life, now that she is finally living hers.

Year Of Yes – Shonda Rhimes

I remember how excited I was to get started with reading this book in January last year. In so many ways, I believed that 2020 was a year I needed to use the word “yes” a lot more. I finished the book super pumped to claim the year. You can read all about that on My Year Of Yes

Then well, I lost my sense of direction until later on in the year when a friend helped me realize that I was saying “no” so many times. I had to remind myself about how I was failing Shonda.

This is a must-read.

This Is Just My Face: Try Not To Stare – Gabourey Sidibe

Now Gabourey starts her book in a very interesting way (I don’t want to give too much away). What I liked about this book just like Gabrielle Union’s is the fact that she does not hold back from any of her experiences. Throughout the book, you get insight into who Gabourey is behind movies.

It’s a book that will catch your interest right from the start, and leave you gasping in parts of the book crying in others, and laughing out loud in most of the areas. This is a book you want to read. If you’re not fully convinced of this, check out the book review of This Is Just My Face Try Not To Stare.

Dear Girls: Intimate Tales, Untold Secrets & Advice For Living Your Best Life – Ali Wong

Ali Wong’s humor is evident in the book that she addresses to her daughters, but really, anyone can read it.

She shares the wisdom she’s learned from a life in comedy and reveals stories from her life off stage, including the brutal single life in New York, reconnecting with her roots in Vietnam, tales of being a wild child growing up in San Francisco, and parenting war stories. If you are looking for something funny, surprisingly moving, and enlightening, you should add this book to your list.

All books are available in PDF. So, what book are you getting next?